(taken from the Protocol that is signed by all the venues listed in the Eating Out Project)  

0.      It is indispensable to know exactly what foods are permitted, forbidden and at risk. This is explained during the A.I.C. basic courses and indicated in the didactic material and in the A.I.C. Food and Drink Handbook.  This knowledge is necessary when purchasing supplies and for understanding properly when a menu is gluten-free.  

0.      It is indispensable for the staff of the venue to know exactly what to do to make sure that no contamination to the food served to the celiac customer takes place.  

 The general and particular rules for each type of venue are listed here below
 Rules for Restaurants, Pizza Restaurants and Hotel Restaurants: 

0.      THE FOOD PREPARATION AREA MUST BE CLEAN AND USED EXCLUSIVELY FOR GLUTEN-FREE FOOD: it is necessary for the dishes to be prepared in such a way as to exclude any contact with food containing gluten. The preparation area for gluten-free food must be thoroughly cleaned of any possible residues of previous preparation of food containing gluten, best if it is exclusively used for the preparation of gluten-free food. 

0.      CLEAN CLOTHES/UNIFORM OR DISPOSABLE OVERALLS/APRON:  the staff dealing with the preparation of the gluten-free food must wear clean clothes/uniforms that are not contaminated (above all not with flour), or disposable overalls/apron kept in a clean cupboard must be worn over the usual clothes.    

0.      CLEAN HANDS: after working in any way with food that contains gluten the staff must always wash their hands thoroughly.  

0.      CLEAN EQUIPMENT OR EQUIPMENT ONLY USED FOR GLUTEN-FREE FOOD: the machinery, equipment (eg pans, baking-pans/dishes, grill, fryer, griddle, mixer), cutlery (eg spatulas, knives, spoons, ladles, can-openers), containers must not be contaminated by foods that contain gluten: before using them for “gluten-free” food they must be thoroughly washed; if they are used exclusively for gluten-free food they must be stored in clean or closed areas.  

0.      NO SHARED COOKING WATER: gluten-free food must be cooked in containers that are separate from those used for other foods: gluten-free food must not be cooked in a pan which has not been washed after being used for previous preparations and in water where pasta containing gluten has been boiled. Cooking water which has been used for pasta containing gluten must not be added during the preparation of risottos, sauces or other dishes, nor must it be utilised for boiling rice or vegetables for the celiac customer(s).  

0.      DO NOT USE OIL ALREADY UTILISED FOR GLUTEN-CONTAINING FOODS: the oil used for frying must be devoted exclusively to the cooking of gluten-free foods, and it must not therefore be used also for frying food containing gluten.   

0.      NO MULTI-PURPOSE COOKING BASKETS: do not use multi-purpose cooking baskets if they are utilised for cooking food containing gluten.  

0.      IDENTIFICATION SYSTEM FOR GLUTEN-FREE DISHES: bags and hermetically sealed containers used for conserving gluten-free food (also in the fridge or in the freezer) must be clearly labelled: alternatively, it is possible to utilise containers of a different colour that can be clearly identified.  

0.      AVOID COOKING GLUTEN-FREE FOOD IN THE OVEN AT THE SAME TIME AS FOOD CONTAINING GLUTEN:  it is advisable not to cook gluten-free food in the oven at the same time as food containing gluten, and it is necessary to take into account the characteristics of the type of oven present in the venue. 

 Rules for Pizza Restaurants (in addition to the rules already listed above):

0.      SEPARATE AND UNCONTAMINATED WORK AREA:  it is necessary to create a laboratory that is totally separate from the other work spaces, or dedicate an area for gluten-free food preparation which is totally separate with respect to where food containing gluten is worked. If this is not possible, the work surface must be carefully and thoroughly cleaned.  

0.      SPECIAL EQUIPMENT: the machinery, equipment, accessories (aluminium baking pans) and ingredients necessary for the production of gluten-free pizza must be absolutely distinct and separate (covered or closed in a cupboard) to guarantee that they will not be contaminated.    

0.      NO MULTI-PURPOSE USE OF THE OVEN (A DUAL OVEN IS PREFERABLE):   this solution means that it is not necessary to interrupt the production of pizzas containing gluten in order to cook the gluten-free one(s), thus also avoiding lengthy waiting times, besides guaranteeing that no contamination takes place during cooking.  

0.      USE BAKING PANS WITH HIGH SIDES: if there is only one oven available, it is necessary to stop cooking pizzas with gluten and the gluten-free pizza must not be placed directly on the base of the oven. The gluten-free pizza must be isolated from flour by cooking it in a baking pan with high sides; moreover, risky manoeuvres such as passing the floury pizza paddle over the gluten-free pizza must be avoided.  

0.      SEPARATE INGREDIENTS FOR PIZZA TOPPING: do not use the same topping ingredients that are used for pizzas containing gluten, which have been touched with floury hands, spoons or other utensils (sauce, mozzarella, oregano, various toppings, etc.).  

0.      USE MOZZARELLA FOR TOPPING: besides mozzarella it is possible to use other industrial cheeses which melt, so long as they are present in the AIC Food and Drink Handbook (in Italian: AIC Prontuario degli alimenti).

Rules for Waiters/Waitresses: 

0.      CLEAN HANDS: after any contact with food containing gluten the staff must always wash their hands thoroughly. 

0.      BEWARE OF CRUMBS AND BREAD: make sure that the tablecloth does not have any crumb residues, and do not place the bread on the tablecloth next to the celiac customer(s).  

0.      INFORMED STAFF FOR SERVING THE CELIAC CUSTOMER:  the informed person must be able to advise the celiac(s) about the dishes that are suitable; he/she must serve the celiac customer(s) in a natural manner, avoiding errors in attitude or manoeuvres that can make them feel ill at ease.   

0.      CLEARLY MARKED PLATE: above all during the busiest times, to prevent the risk of plates (with gluten-containing and gluten-free food) being swapped round by mistake, we recommend a clear means of identification, for example some decoration or little flag.  

 Rules for Ice-cream Parlours:

0.      CLEAN HANDS: after working with any food that may contain gluten the staff must always wash their hands thoroughly.   

0.      CLEAN OR SPECIFIC EQUIPMENT: thoroughly wash surfaces and utensils previously used for the preparation of ice-creams not suitable for celiac customers.  

0.      WEAR CLEAN CLOTHES which are not contaminated with products containing gluten.  

0.      AVOID production processes that include ice-creams not suitable for celiac customers; use only ingredients that are naturally gluten-free and products present in the AIC Food and Drink Handbook (in Italian: AIC Prontuario degli Alimenti).           

0.      NO REMAKING PROCEDURES are allowed.   

0.      GLUTEN-FREE ICE-CREAM must not have other ingredients added to them which are not suitable for celiac customers (such as wafers, granulated biscuit, sponge cake, Torrone/nougat etc.)  

0.      GLUTEN-FREE ICE-CREAM must be served using specific utensils and in cups/tubs/containers or in cones/wafers which have been approved as gluten-free by the Italian Ministry of Health.  Equipment (ice-cream spades, spatulas, scoops etc.) that have been contaminated with ice-cream or products that are not suitable for celiacs must not be used. 

0.      GLUTEN-FREE ICE-CREAM CUPS/TUBS/CONTAINERS must be placed well separated from ice-cream that is not suitable for celiacs.  

0.      THE VARIOUS FLAVOURS OF GLUTEN-FREE ICE-CREAM should be clearly written on the container (such as on a label, or signalled with a little flag).  

Rules for preparing a gluten-free breakfast (for BED & BREAKFASTS and HOTELS)

0.      Clean hands

0.      Clean tablecloth (without crumbs)

0.      Clean apron

0.      Clean kitchenware and tableware

0.      Food baskets which have not previously been used for bread with gluten, or baskets lined with a clean napkin   

0.      A specific sugar-bowl (if present)

0.      The toaster (if present) must never have been used for ordinary bread containing gluten 

0.      Prepare a separate cupboard for products and containers for celiac consumers  

VERY IMPORTANT: IF A BARLEY COFFEE DISK HAS BEEN USED PREVIOUSLY IN THE EXPRESSO COFFEE MACHINE IT IS NECESSARY TO THOROUGHLY CLEAN THE FILTER BEFORE MAKING COFFEE FOR THE CELIAC CUSTOMER.